mawm

navigate
new
old
rings
mail
book
notes
profile
recent
a la carte - 2006-11-14
my prayer - 2006-10-22
Dipshit adieu - 2006-10-17
all sewn up now - 2006-10-14
fix-a-flat - 2006-10-13
read
humanlike
tealeaf5
la-the-sage
alicewonders
morningswim
hissandtell
inarticulate
vswpaper
credit
design
diaryland
more to love

The WeatherPixie

















< 2005-04-24 : does the Pope shit in the woods? >

does the Pope shit in the woods? 2005-04-24 - 4:44 p.m.

I wonder if Catholic cardinals sit around thinking about what they would pick for their Pope name. Do they practice writing it out in flowery script on their papal Pee Chees?

0 popcorn gallery

v. to Google 2005-04-14 - 11:00 p.m.

Today Google's banner is celebrating Leonardo da Vinci. I love Google. I love getting stumped by a Google banner. I also love that it doesn't happen very often.

0 popcorn gallery

idolatry 2005-02-21 - 2:53 a.m.

Hunter Thompson killed himself a few hours ago. I suppose he had his reasons, but I wish he hadn't. He was a great favorite of mine.

In other news, we BARTed to San Francisco for the Chinese New Year Parade last night and I got my flesh pressed by the dashing Gavin Newsom, Mayor of San Francisco. Yikes! I haven't been so excited in the presence of a politician since I hugged Alan Cranston in a spontaneous act of lunacy at the 1984 Democratic Convention. But Gavin looks like a 1940s matinee idol. That's what everyone was calling out: "Gavin! Gavin!" And I held up my hand and he took it, looking me in the eye, and I squeezed his hand, a little too hard maybe and a little too long, but I wanted him to know that I like him and I think he's a good guy. Not that I read the papers or anything.

0 popcorn gallery

I am Felony and I am nine 2005-02-12 - 10:15 a.m.

Leaving home just now for a soccer game, Felony said she'd call me if they won. I said, "Call me on your way home anyway, so I can get the cats ready."

"OK," she said, then called back over her shoulder, "We'll set black sails if we lose."

I felt so proud I wanted to ring E. D. Hirsch. At least some of it is sinking in!

I should mention something else she said the other day before I forget it. We were at the doctor's office to get her sore finger checked out. They weighed her and took her blood pressure, then she joined me in the examination room. After the nurse stepped out of the room, Felony said in a low voice, "Hey Mom, guess what? I don't think it would have said I weighed as much as I really do, when she weighed me."

"Oh?" I asked, after I had sorted out that last sentence. "Why is that?"

She grinned and, pointing at her belly, whispered, "Because I sucked it in!"

0 popcorn gallery

girl's gotta work 2005-01-17 - 11:52 p.m.

Marcel Schurman

Highlights for Children

Open City magazine

Writer's Guidelines Directory

Wordfirm Professional Publication Services

Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators

0 popcorn gallery

resolved 2005-01-03 - 1:02 a.m.

Happy New Year, dollface.

This week I meet with Valerie, on Thursday, so I've got plenty to do. I have to write up all my usual paperwork, plus the social skills forms, and send them to Duff on Wednesday in time to print them out. I was supposed to mail Valerie a check for $25 for tickets to the Michael Cooper show, so I'd better take care of that, too.

Meanwhile I promised myself and the kids I'd start scheduling their work. That means I have to actually sit down with all the work and start writing! Yes, I should have done it this weekend, but I lolled around in bed instead. So what. Forget it. It will be a slow, painstaking process, and that's okay. I'll get it done.

I want to call the yoga studio and find out her schedule. Bonnie and Grace said they would go with me if I signed up for an evening class. See? This could really happen. Just follow through.

I want to write New Year's resolutions. I already know some of them. Start doing yoga (and not just talking about it). Use the pedometer to see if I can walk 10K steps every day. Get rid of things. Get my mother's computer online. Help the kids enjoy learning by doing more long, involved projects (such as a family crest/coat of arms this semester). Find a way to contribute more time to social justice and humanitarian causes. Practice photography and try to become better at it. Practice my "ornamental penmanship." Write regardless. Seek joy.

0 popcorn gallery

linx 2004-01-18 - 11:28 a.m.

The WeatherPixie

0 popcorn gallery