mawm

navigate
new
old
rings
mail
book
notes
profile
recent
a la carte - 2006-11-14
my prayer - 2006-10-22
Dipshit adieu - 2006-10-17
all sewn up now - 2006-10-14
fix-a-flat - 2006-10-13
read
humanlike
tealeaf5
la-the-sage
alicewonders
morningswim
hissandtell
inarticulate
vswpaper
credit
design
diaryland
more to love

The WeatherPixie

















< 2003-07-08 : What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder >

What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder 2003-07-08 - 11:03 a.m.

I feel very sad right now because I just found out that the 29-year-old Iranian conjoined twins, Ladan and Laleh Bijani, died shortly after being separated. I had felt confident that their surgery would be successful, despite the bad odds. Now I feel terrible. Their brains had fused together after all those years, which the surgeons didn't anticipate. Which begs the question, how could they not anticipate it? It seems like a predictable conclusion, frankly. Felony's front tooth is being blocked by a mesiodens, an extra "middle" tooth, and the dentists are in a hurry to get that tooth out because of the concern that the blocked tooth will fuse to the bone above it. Organic things that are like and pressed together often fuse, don't they?

0 popcorn gallery

Dennis, where have ye gone? 2003-06-27 - 11:59 a.m.

Wondering what happened to Dennis Miller? This is fucking hilarious.

0 popcorn gallery

do not, do too, do not, do too, do not 2003-06-06 - 1:25 a.m.

I got three comments in the other diary and I thought woo hooo, three comments! and I was all excited because I'd just written this exhausting entry about somebody being mean to me. So click and away I go to read my three (!!!) comments, all excited, only to find that they are all the same comment, posted three times, by someone who wants to berate me for taking a dim view of the whole Belarus mail-order bride industry, which--surprise!--does not conform in the least to his perspective. He's using acronyms and quoting statistics and writing in this cribbed shorthand, so that at first I think it's all gibberish. It takes me three tries to make sense of the damn thing, and the upshot is, you guessed it, I suck. I suck, specifically, for spending so much time in my lowly pathetic Internet forum (he doesn't even realize it's a DIARY) making negative comments about the whole Belarus mail-order bride thing, which is really a very tiny part of the mail-order bride universe, he assures me. So if I suck for that reason, doesn't he suck even more for complaining at some length about it in my even-more-obscure comments section?

0 popcorn gallery

my new theme song 2003-05-23 - 4:23 p.m.

I just love this song. Maybe a little too much, under the circumstances.

0 popcorn gallery

o/o 2003-05-06 - 9:18 a.m.

I went back on Adderall yesterday and it is as if somebody flipped my switch to the On position.

Meanwhile, in the New York Times, Paul Krugman decries W's "historic" landing on the U.S.S. Lincoln. Where men like Dwight D. Eisenhower and John F. Kennedy never wore a military uniform while in office, W. flaunts his indifferent "service" record.

Man on Horseback

0 popcorn gallery

readings 2003-05-04 - 5:11 p.m.

Iranian blogger detained without formal charges. BBC

Spam celebrates silver jubilee BBC

0 popcorn gallery

only playing dead 2003-04-25 - 4:37 p.m.

Hmphf. Appears obnoxious '80s comic Andrew Dice Clay is not dead. Repeat, not dead. Despite all evidence to the contrary.

0 popcorn gallery

the missing link 2003-04-21 - 12:02 p.m.

I loved Sunday's Doonesbury. "It's hard to believe we have a president who doesn't believe in evolution." Did you see it? I don't read the paper regularly so I miss Doonesbury. There's so much good stuff out there that I don't keep tabs on. Makes me want to try harder.

0 popcorn gallery

Readings: human shield, heroine of DNA 2003-04-21 - 11:15 a.m.

Weeping, weeping, weeping over this piece by an Israeli journalist describing her 24 hours as a human shield in "the most miserable place in the Gaza Strip."

I was a human shield

Sometime I'd like to write a book, maybe one for younger people, documenting some of the important women whose contributions have been denied or obscured. One of these profiles would be about Rosalind Franklin.

The unsung heroine of DNA

0 popcorn gallery