mawm

navigate
new
old
rings
mail
book
notes
profile
recent
a la carte - 2006-11-14
my prayer - 2006-10-22
Dipshit adieu - 2006-10-17
all sewn up now - 2006-10-14
fix-a-flat - 2006-10-13
read
humanlike
tealeaf5
la-the-sage
alicewonders
morningswim
hissandtell
inarticulate
vswpaper
credit
design
diaryland
more to love

The WeatherPixie

















< 2003-02-23 : cherish >

cherish 2003-02-23 - 12:53 p.m.

Could not make myself get out of bed this morning. Or yesterday morning. Or the day before. Have been calling this neurologist whose name I got from CHADD, the ADD membership organization, because I finally caved in and got a membership. I'm trying to get an appointment, and eventually, drugs, but so far have only reached a machine. There is a new drug called Strattera that I want to find out about.

I got a sum total of three names from CHADD, which is disconcerting since I had agreed to travel to any of four surrounding counties. That's because I specifically asked for prescription-writing MDs, not garden-variety therapists. Still, Alameda County is so thick with mental-health professionals that I suspect their classifieds are the primary source of income for the weekly alternative paper, yet CHADD could give me the name of just one psychiatrist in Berkeley. Hard to fathom. The neurologist I�m calling is in Sonoma County, but he�s the only one who takes my insurance.

I sure hope he doesn�t blow me off like the last guy I got referred to. I keep wondering if I ought to try to make myself seem more interesting, glamorous. I�m not the least interesting person around but it takes a while for people to figure that out. Basically, I live my life under deep cover, as they say in the spy movies.

Watched Cherish last night, mostly for the chance to see the back of my friend�s head. He had been given a line originally, but it got cut. My friend is not an actor but a friend of the filmmaker�s. Which is good, because if he were an actor, it would be excruciating to see him get bit parts.

0 popcorn gallery

jet set 2003-02-22 - 12:27 p.m.

Today we will celebrate Jasper�s fourth birthday with a party at the Jungle. Never mind that he turned four in September. I�m thinking of it as a half-birthday party.

I just found a red and green wool tam-o�-shanter and Royal Stewart plaid mohair scarf from Scotland that I got when I was a kid. My memory is a little dim but I think my father and stepmother got it for me at a Scottish airport during a stopover on their trip to Italy. My father won the trip from PT Brake Lining because he sold so much of their product that year. I was about eleven or twelve, I think. I remember they also brought me some (not particularly Florentine) bracelets from Florence. Which I still have, somewhere, though I can�t remember if I�ve ever worn them.

0 popcorn gallery